Camera quality on FP compared with e.g. Iphone?

Hi,
How is the camera on FP compared with other smartphones?

Is the camera on FP as good as the one on for example Iphone?

I have been avoiding getting a smartphone because of environmental issues, but because I work as an illustrator I have to bye one to shown my artwork on the social medias. Therefore the quality of the camera is of importance before I choose …

While I believe the camera isn’t of the same quality as what you’d find in an iPhone, some people have posted some very nice pictures on these forums.

A side by side comparison would be nice though.

3 Likes

Hi @ulrikka

As @Jerry mentioned, the camera isn’t the best on the market, which in my opinion isn’t necessay: it’s still a phone. You can also check out some pictures taken by Fairphone users in this topic (as @Jerry mentioned as well).

Kind regards,

Robin

3 Likes

@Ulrikka, a friend is using an iPhone 4S and told me to send some pics to get an impression. He’s kind of a photo nerd and said they are OKish. At least for the money. However, the LED / flash is really weak compared to an iPhone, especially in the recent iPhone version. I was seriously surprised when someone pulled out her iPhone at a party and shot a video with the internal LED. I could not have done that with my FP1, as the ambient light was quite low.

2 Likes

Hi, Thanks for contributing with your opinions!

I would say it compares very poorly with other smartphones, particularly the iphone, here are two pictures I took of the colour chart at http://www.ephotozine.com/articles/Nikon-Coolpix-P90-11320/images/nikon_p90_colourchart.jpg one with a galaxy s2 one with the FP1 both cameras on default settings. This demonstrates what I see with the FP, completely washed out colours, I’ve played around with settings but I still can’t match the S2 and it’s just an average camera.

appologies for the flare in the top left theres a window behind me.

Galaxy S2

FP1

2 Likes