Battery FF3 charges unreliably

Hi,

I’m new to FF and have some issues. Bought it in the NL but live abroad where it’s not sold so getting help is not easy. And I am really not the world’s best with phones (understatement…)

The battery of my FF3+ sometimes charges well, sometimes charges very slow and sometimes doesn’t charge at all. When I restart the phone it usually start charging properly which makes me think it’s not the charger or the outlet or something (I’ve tried different ones but it’s just unreliable).

Any ideas? Would be happy to hear :slight_smile:

Hi @NoorN and welcome to the forum.

One of the things to check is resistance in the USBC port and the cable plug, it may be a very fine coating of oil or dust. You maybe able to clean it carefully with a very fine needle maybe.

It could also be the bottom module is a bit loose and each time you plug in the contacts are not quite good enough.

So where are you and can you get a friend/acquaintance in Europe to send it back to Fairphone if you have to?

1 Like

Hi @anon9989719, thank you for your reply.

I don’t think that’s the problem because the phone is plugged in, doesn’t charge, i restart it and it starts charging normally. Without unplugging it. But i will definitely give it a try! :slight_smile:

I’m currently in Israel b.t.w. I can send it back with somebody but huge hassle so rather don’t do that :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have an even more severe problem which is that I don’t have any device that charges my brand-new 3+. It does not charge with standard commercially available chargers or on a pc usb. I have read that it needs a particular charger listed in https://www.qualcomm.com/media/documents/files/quick-charge-device-list.pdf.
Fairphone claims that they do not sell the phone with a charger to avoid waste but in fact they are producing trouble and waist because you can’t reuse your chargers and you don’t even know this.